#1 04-05-2011 17:06

foe_hammer
Registered: 04-05-2011
Posts: 7

Problem with the proper widescreen fix for III

Greetings. I've downloaded the fix yesterday for VC and III. Finally VC Runs on 1080p without aiming issues - outstanding job !

When I try the fix for III though, something strange happens. The game runs, but somehow flattened, like there is too much FOV. Fixing manually the file "20widescreenfix" between 20 and 1 barely does something. So i guess its a code issue ?

I'm using the CLEO 1.0.1.6v on clean installation of III  -no other modifications installed whatsoever. Tried with the 1.0 and 1.1 exes and the problem is still present.

Screenshots:

23095bc1036484cc4b58f983f8453a27.jpeg65bd2e39e39a60b28323233904303fb7.jpeg89b0a40d95caf6cd2bd0f20a71ddf0b7.jpeg

Last edited by foe_hammer (04-05-2011 17:13)

Offline

#2 04-05-2011 18:05

Sergey81
Registered: 19-12-2008
Posts: 654

Re: Problem with the proper widescreen fix for III

@foe_hammer - It's not FOV, i think it's aspect ratio problem.
Open gta 3 v1.0 process with cheat engine and find these addresses:
0x005F53C0
0x005F53C4
Both values are float. Post here what you have.
http://www.sendspace.com/file/koq6j6 - this is other version of script, try it and let me know how it works.

Last edited by Sergey81 (04-05-2011 18:09)

Offline

#3 04-05-2011 18:41

foe_hammer
Registered: 04-05-2011
Posts: 7

Re: Problem with the proper widescreen fix for III

Sergey81 wrote:

http://www.sendspace.com/file/koq6j6 - this is other version of script, try it and let me know how it works.

Just tried this and it just works! Great job Sergey81. Tried it with both the 1.0 and 1.1 that I have, no more flattening issue and the aiming is fine. The HUD is  a little stretched but I can live with that. Here is a pic:

ed376ad8c907bbda454c72d00ca9c86c.jpeg

As for the values, I'm not that into coding so if you link me to Cheat engine and tell me what to do next I'll be happy to post results.

Offline

#4 04-05-2011 19:01

Sergey81
Registered: 19-12-2008
Posts: 654

Re: Problem with the proper widescreen fix for III

@foe_hammer - No need for cheat engine now, i uploaded version 3 - http://www.gtagarage.com/mods/show.php?id=15521
Test it please, but i think all should work fine from now.

Offline

#5 04-05-2011 20:58

foe_hammer
Registered: 04-05-2011
Posts: 7

Re: Problem with the proper widescreen fix for III

@Sergey81Just tested both fixes.

Unfortunately the III fix v3.0 official does the same thing the v2.0 official did -flattening the picture. The test file you provided earlier ( http://www.sendspace.com/file/koq6j6 ) works best for me.

The VC fix works fine from what I saw. The v3 CS file is slightly bigger than the v2, but I don't see anything different. The one complaint I have is the misplaced icons on the Map in the menu, but its not a big deal. The v2 fix had the same problem.

0f6e13187916b4edd6aececb6bd22f9d.jpeg

Offline

#6 04-05-2011 21:27

Sergey81
Registered: 19-12-2008
Posts: 654

Re: Problem with the proper widescreen fix for III

@foe_hammer - Hmm, strange, v2 and 3 works ok for me.
http://www.sendspace.com/file/t2z58y
Try this version.

Offline

#7 04-05-2011 21:46

foe_hammer
Registered: 04-05-2011
Posts: 7

Re: Problem with the proper widescreen fix for III

Sergey81 wrote:

Same problem with this one. Though not as flattened as v2 but still unplayable.

Offline

#8 04-05-2011 22:14

Sergey81
Registered: 19-12-2008
Posts: 654

Re: Problem with the proper widescreen fix for III

@foe_hammer - For some reason your aspect ratio calculates incorrectly. Don't know why this happening.

Offline

#9 04-05-2011 22:38

foe_hammer
Registered: 04-05-2011
Posts: 7

Re: Problem with the proper widescreen fix for III

@Sergey81 - I See, my monitor is pretty standart 16:9, 1080p native, so it must be the game somehow. The beta fix however works just fine for me so thank you again.

One last thing - i wonder what is the VC v2> v3 changelog ? because I see no difference between them ?

Offline

#10 04-05-2011 22:54

Sergey81
Registered: 19-12-2008
Posts: 654

Re: Problem with the proper widescreen fix for III

@foe_hammer - I just tried to fix that issue. Didn't work apparently.
Code from v2:

05E0: 5@ = read_memory 0x12FEC4{III} size 4 virtual_protect 0  //X 1920
05E0: 6@ = read_memory 0x12FEC8{III} size 4 virtual_protect 0  //Y 1080
0071: 5@ /= 6@ // floating-point values       

05DF: write_memory 0x005F53C0 size 4 value 5@ {1.777999997} virtual_protect 1                    
05DF: write_memory 0x005F53C4 size 4 value 5@ {1.777999997} virtual_protect 1

Then i upload another script to you, where this code was a little different:

05E0: 5@ = read_memory 0x12FEC4{III} size 4 virtual_protect 0  //X 1920
05E0: 6@ = read_memory 0x12FEC8{III} size 4 virtual_protect 0  //Y 1080
0071: 5@ /= 6@ // floating-point values       
05DF: write_memory 0x005F53C0 size 4 value 1.777999997 virtual_protect 1                    
05DF: write_memory 0x005F53C4 size 4 value 1.777999997 virtual_protect 1

Instead of calculations, we wrote aspect ratio for 1920x1080.
Version 3:

05E0: 5@ = read_memory 0x12FEC4{III} size 4 virtual_protect 0  //X 1920
05E0: 6@ = read_memory 0x12FEC8{III} size 4 virtual_protect 0  //Y 1080
0093: 5@ = integer 5@ to_float
0093: 6@ = integer 6@ to_float
0071: 5@ /= 6@ // floating-point values       
05DF: write_memory 0x005F53C0 size 4 value 5@ {1.777999997} virtual_protect 1                    
05DF: write_memory 0x005F53C4 size 4 value 5@ {1.777999997} virtual_protect 1

I thought it solve this problem, but...

UPD. I change resolution addresses, try this http://www.sendspace.com/file/sut8wf
on v1.0 exe(only).

Last edited by Sergey81 (04-05-2011 23:17)

Offline

#11 04-05-2011 23:43

foe_hammer
Registered: 04-05-2011
Posts: 7

Re: Problem with the proper widescreen fix for III

Sergey81 wrote:

UPD. I change resolution addresses, try this http://www.sendspace.com/file/sut8wf
on v1.0 exe(only).

Works, with the 1.0, GJ! The 1.1 is now flattened horizontaly rather than veartycaly, strange. I guess this is as good as it gets ?

Offline

#12 05-05-2011 00:12

Sergey81
Registered: 19-12-2008
Posts: 654

Re: Problem with the proper widescreen fix for III

@foe_hammer - That's cool, i'll upload version 4 with 1.1 support then.
UPD. Done - http://www.gtagarage.com/mods/show.php?id=15521
Thanks for the testing by the way.

Last edited by Sergey81 (05-05-2011 00:22)

Offline

#13 05-05-2011 13:36

foe_hammer
Registered: 04-05-2011
Posts: 7

Re: Problem with the proper widescreen fix for III

@Sergey81 - Just tried it this morning - the official v5 works flawlessly with both 1.0 and 1.1.

Any chance fixing the VC map issue ?

2e1dbacb816fce6b0cf174eef72c63dd.jpeg

Last edited by foe_hammer (05-05-2011 13:38)

Offline

#14 05-05-2011 14:02

Sergey81
Registered: 19-12-2008
Posts: 654

Re: Problem with the proper widescreen fix for III

@foe_hammer - i don't think so. You can use alternative:
cd00da86bb8797372bf0931c1d8d1de0.jpeg
You need map.cs from iv hud for vc - http://sannybuilder.com/forums/viewtopic.php?id=1142
Press 1 to show increased radar. Afair, it works on 1.0 exe only.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB